Water bottles, poem (359/365)

I was never that thirsty
I asked you for water
To touch your attention
So that we could meet
Unable to explain
That I weep
Just the same
Because I hear you
From the street
But waves of shame
And insecurity stop me
From showing my flaws
Because damaged goods
Aren’t good at all
Or at least that’s the image
way to unopened
Way to unlovable
Way to unhuggable
To be accepted
Every ones got scars
But we all just cover it up
I have been slammed
Before by drunks
For sipping at communion
So my shields
Know better then just
Letting you in
When you’re so unknown
I hoped to resurrect
Some part of youth
When we fell
But were unafriad
I was never that thirsty
I asked you for water
In hopes of inacting
Some silent prayer
That you would be
My friend forever
And hold me
In an ocean
That I don’t know
How to swim

Leave a Reply

