Unguarded impressions, poem (332/365)

You caught me off gaurd
As I attempt to introduce
The best part of my soul
But you came to early
Leaving me open
Unable to hide
I tried to cover it
But I’m sure you
Saw the scars
And all the stuff that
Keeps me up at night
And I pretended
That you didn’t
Sweeping everything inside
And playing pretend
But I’m glad you saw me
So as nights pass
I won’t wonder
What if you met
The real me
Sometimes first impressions
Are not meant to be feared
There meant to fail
Because we can only go up
From here

Leave a Reply

