Yelling and Carrying, Poem, (141/365)

I raise my voice
Not because I am angry
but because
You were right
about him
about them
And I yell
because I saw it,
I saw it with every breath
with every glare
with every movement
but I thought
I could carry them
I thought I could just carry them
And carry them until they could walk
So I yelled
because your right
and I hoped that this shriek
could carry them
since I no longer can
My knees are dead
and feet are bruised
and back has bared enough
I cannot
excuse their lack of loyalty
I thought I could carry them
but who will carry me
I raise my voice
for I hoped to save them
I yell because
You were right
about him
about them
And I lower my voice
because I am
no longer
trying to carry
it across a room

Leave a Reply

