The Waiter, A Poem by Lexie Grace (23/365)

I have been really liking character poems so today I decided to do one.

1
The waiter waits
for You
to order
I’m apologetic
For your lack
Of follow though
Your inability to commit
Be it relationships
Or fish and chips
Or beverage choice
It’s all the same
The waiter smiles
No worries
This is what
he gets paid to do
So the waiter just waits for you
While I stare at you

2
You forgot to pick up
My friends when they came
To town
I’m apologetic
For your lack
Of follow through
Your inability to commit
Be it moving
Or staying
Or staggering
They said its no problem
They just took
two buses
But they reassure me
It was fun
They got to see more
Of the country
They’re nice because
They love me
They say you can pick them up
Another time
You smile back to them
you say you will
And I just stare at you

3
It’s been 3 years
And we’re sitting at
This very nice restaurant
And I can’t call this anniversary
Because I don’t know
What this is Anniversary of
Possible me waiting for you
To figure out
“Life”
You apologize
For your lack
Of follow through
Your inability to commit
Be it food
Or scheduling
Or saying what I mean to you
The waiter comes by
And you reply to him
Just like you have replied to me
I need some more time
And I get up
Because
I’m not the waiter
I don’t get paid
I’m not going to be scrounging
For whatever tips
you throw my way
And I leave
But the waiter
The waiter stays
And He just waits for you
And as he patiently waits your Order
He stares at you

20131110-212140.jpg

Leave a Reply

