Hello Typos, Bye Perfection: 365 Days Project (1)

1

I’m a perfectionist. So much of a perfectionist that I would prefer to stare at a blank curser, then write wrong words or fall victim to a typo. I almost didn’t write this for fear of not being perfect, or fear of what this 365 day experience might hold me to. But life is too short to be perfect. In truth there are no perfect moments, nostalgia plays tricks on us.

The other day I read this great book that I would recommend any Artist to read it’s really inspiring, it’s called Steal Like An Artist by Austin Kleon.  Austin Kleon has a chapter that really spoke to me about not waiting for the perfect moment to create art.  Then after finishing his book yesterday I watched this Vimeo video about him taking about his life  and if you have time I recommend spending 30 mins to watch this video :

http://vimeo.com/creativemorningsatx/201304

Anyway in the video he talks about how he spent a whole year creating art everyday, just to go through process and seeing where it would take him.

And I have decided to take the same leap of faith. I have decided for the next 365 days  I will create a piece of art a day, be it a picture, painting, sculpture, photograph, a line of dialogue or a poem.

I am not saying that I will make good, if it’s bad, it’s bad. It’s just a process. I’m not sure what to expect at the end of this. But if anything I hope that maybe I will be less of a perfectionist. So PLEASE FORGIVE THE TYPOS!!.

Today’s piece of art was inspired by an article I read about how no bad guys ever think they are bad, they always have some sort of justification.

Here’s to 365 days of creation,  Hold me to it!

Lexie

photo

One comment on “Hello Typos, Bye Perfection: 365 Days Project (1)

  1. Marela says:

    Wishing you the best of luck, Lexie! 😀 I’m excited to see what you create in the next year!

Leave a Reply

